RSS Feed

DIY Hanging Kite {from a Poppy Seed Projects frame}

Hello Friends and Happy Monday!  A couple weeks ago I guest posted on Poppy Seed Projects…Just in case you missed it, I am sharing it today!

Not sure about the rest of you, but I am ready for Summertime!  Summertime around our house means Fun, Relaxed days…What better way to set that tone than with a bright, yet welcoming…Kite!

DIY Kite using Poppy Seed Frame {Onekriegerchick.com}

Ready to see how you can make your own Hanging Kite?

First let’s gather our supplies:

Kite supplies {Onekriegerchick.com}

*Poppy Seed frame of choice {I used Eleanor square}

*Paint supplies

*Embellishments {vinyl, fabric, ribbon}

Now, Here’s how I did it…First I painted the edges of the frame so the creamy color would show through when I sand it.

First painted layer {Onekriegerchick.com}

Then, I painted a section of the frame where the quote would be.  No need to paint the entire frame.

Navy accent paint on kite {Onekriegerchick.com}

Then, using my Cricut, I cut out a vinyl quote “let’s go fly a kite and send it soaring” from Mary Poppins.  I carefully adhered the vinyl, making sure to firmly press all the edges down. (That way the next coat of paint will not bleed under the vinyl.)

vinyl lettering for kite {Onekriegerchick.com}

Originally, I had planned to use all acrylic paint.  Until…I remembered I had a perfect Aqua spray paint!

Ready for Final coat of paint {Onekriegerchick.com}

So much quicker than acrylic and it dried uniformly and without lines.  Make sure to allow each coat to dry before applying another.

final coat on kite {Onekriegerchick.com}

Now, for the finishing touches..I very carefully removed each vinyl decal, exposing the navy paint underneath.  Then, to give it a little more character, I lightly sanded the edges.  For a kite tail, I cut strips of navy ticking fabric and tied three knots.  I then hot glued the fabric to the back of the frame.  Using the same fabric, I tied an imperfect bow at the top corner.  This can all be customized based on the look you’re going for.  Bright colored ribbons would add a fun pop of color too!

Let's go fly a kite frame {Onekriegerchick.com}

Just what my front porch needed, don’t ya think!

Front Porch with Poppy Seed Kite {Onekriegerchick.com}

What is the most unusual wreath you have used or created?

blog signature

Sharing with these fun parties…

A Bowl Full of LemonsSugar Bee CraftsProject InspiredEfforts and AssetsWith a BlastWhimsy WednesdaySummer InspirationTatertots and Jello

About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

8 responses »

  1. This is super cute, I want to make one for my front door now! I love the Mary Poppins quote too!!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Very Cute, more unique than a wreath, I’m gonna get on this one! Thanks for linking up at Feel some loving Hop!
    Bugs and Beans

    Reply
  3. I love a happy front door! I wrote a whole post on it and have a “Fabulous Front Doors” board on Pinterest and I am pinning this! Happy summer! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

