RSS Feed

Frugal Flowerpots

Welcome to One {Frugal} Chick Friday!

Happy Friday Afternoon Friends!

Hope you enjoyed my fun tutorial at Poppy Seed Projects today!

Ready for my Frugal Chick idea of the week?

Maybe you have already planted your Spring flowers, maybe you have yet to begin and maybe you are somewhere in between…It was cold way too long here in the Midwest, so I am still planting.  My flowers are just beginning to grow and my garden is just a marked off square in the yard.

Partially because I am frugal and partially because I love the unexpected in decorating, I did not go out and purchase any new pots this year.  Rather, I raided the garage and barn in search of cool containers to do my planting.

At SNAP, I took a class on succulents…I took oodles of pictures of awesome planting ideas.  One of my favorites was an old toy dump truck with the bed loaded in succulents.  I knew it would be the perfect addition to my exterior Spring decor.

Here’s my version…

Dump truck with succulents {Onekriegerchick.com}

Here are a few other ideas I ended up going with…

Why not plant strawberries in a large galvanized bin?

DIY Strawberry planter {Onekriegerchick.com}

A metal trough for an herb garden…

Trough herb garden {Onekriegerchick.com}

An antique chicken feeder for succulents…

Chicken feeder with succulents {Onekriegerchick.com}

Not sure what this pan is, but I love it’s shape!

old tin pan as planter {Onekriegerchick.com}

What fun, interesting or re-purposed items are you using in your flower planting this year?

blog signature

About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

2 responses »

  1. Super cute ideas Ariean! I love the unexpected in décor (and gardening) along with recycling and repurposing items 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

