RSS Feed

My favorite {Homemade} seasonings

Welcome to One {Frugal} Chick Friday!  

Hey Friends!  Hope you all have had a wonderful week.  Ours has been a bit crazy.  The weather was beautiful Monday and Tuesday, then the rain set in and now it’s snowing…Uck! Snowing in May. Not sure about you, but I am sooo ready for Spring weather!

Earlier this week, I shared my recipe for Cilantro Lime Chicken Soft Tacos.  In the recipe, I mentioned that I make my own Homemade Taco Seasoning.  In cooking for my family, I do not like to purchase pre-packaged mixes or seasonings. I like to know what we are eating and try to eliminate as much salt as possible.

So…Today I am sharing with you my most used Homemade Seasonings: Taco Seasoning and Italian Dressing seasoning blend.

Go-to, Minimal ingredient, salt-free seasonings {Onekriegerchick

I have been making this Taco Seasoning for a few years now…Not only does it taste wonderful, but it is only four ingredients!

The BEST 4-Ingredient Taco Seasoning {Onekriegerchick

My {4-Ingredient} Homemade Taco Seasoning

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp ground cumin

1 Tbsp onion powder

(optional) 1 tsp crushed red pepper ( I have been omitting  this in the mix due to my kiddos)

How to:

Combine all spices and store in a sealed container, such as a re-purposed jar.  Use as needed.  I typically double or triple the recipe so I don’t have to make it that often.  I use 2 Tbsp per pound of meat.

On to my Italian Dressing Seasoning Blend…Since having my third child, I have been trying to use my slow cooker more often to assist in preparing meals.  So many slow cooking recipes call for cream soups and packaged mixes.  The seasoning blend I see on many slow cooker recipes is an Italian dressing seasoning blend.  Rather than using a package, I came up with a recipe combination that works best for me…using ingredients I always have on hand.

Homemade salt-free Italian dressing mix {Onekriegerchick

Italian Dressing Seasoning Blend

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp dried oregano

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp onion powder

1 Tbsp dried parsley flakes

1 Tbsp granulated sugar

1 Tsp ground black pepper

1 Tsp dried basil

1/2 Tsp dried thyme

1/2 Tsp dried celery seeds

How To:

Combine all spices and store in a sealed container, such as a re-purposed jar.  Use as needed.  I typically double the recipe so I don’t have to make it that often.  I use 2 Tbsp seasoning in place of one Italian Seasoning packet. This seasoning is delicious used as a salad dressing or to season chicken for baking or in the slow cooker.

Repurpose jars for homemade seasonings, add chalkboard labels {Onekriegerchick.com}

Store your mixes in re-purposed jars and add some cute labels!

Do you make your own seasonings? If you’ve discovered a recipe you like, please share!  I am still in search of a Ranch Dressing comparable to Hidden Valley.

Happy Cooking! 

blog signature

Sharing with Carrie this HomeSugarbee CraftsProject InspiredHousewife How To’sEfforts and AssetsPinterest Power PartyThirty Handmade Dayswhatscookingwithruthieyourhomebasedmomcreativegeekery

About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

8 responses »

  1. This looks so easy! I going to have to try this…New Follower. You can find me painting, decorating and baking on HickoryTrail

    Reply
  2. I love this! It’s so easy and saves a lot of money. I’ll pin it and try it out soon! Thanks so much for linking up to my blog hop!

    Reply
  3. Carrie From Carrie This Home

    (I tried to comment a moment ago so I apoligize if this is my second comment!) I love this since it’s so easy and saves a lot of money. I’m going to pin it and try it out soon. Thanks so much for linking this up to my blog hop!

    Reply
  4. Genius! I love these ideas! I have tried a couple of varieties of taco seasoning and so glad to find the Italian Recipe. I will be pinning for sure!

    P.S. So glad I met you at SNAP!!!

    Reply
  5. I love your post! What a great solution to those darn little packets that cost a fortune!! Thank you for coming to share at Super Saturday Show & Tell last week.. stop on by and share again today! http://www.whatscookingwithruthie.com I hope you have wonderful weekend! xoxo~ Ruthie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

