RSS Feed

KIND Bars {Homemade}

Welcome to One {Frugal} Chick Friday!

Hey Onekriegerchick Readers!  I’m Elle, Ariean’s sister.  I blog over at Elle Elyse where I blog about fashion, family and fun Pinterest trials! Today, I am visiting with a {frugal} guest post while Ariean is away having too much fun @ SNAP!

For Lent this year, I decided rather than give up something, I would challenge myself with doing a “Pin of the Day.”  We’re all addicted to Pinterest, right!?  As part of my pin a day challenge I made homemade KIND bars for a fraction of the cost. $.90 each!  Can you believe it?  They are about $2 each in the store!  My husband could eat two each day, so it was getting really expensive to keep them in the house.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Homemade KIND Bars

Ingredients:
1 cup chopped almonds
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup Craisins
1/2 cup crunchy puffed flax
1/4 cup raw flax seed
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1tsp cocoa powder
Agave nectar (enough that it coats the mixture)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Chop the nuts and mix with other ingredients in a large bowl. Pour agave nectar onto mixture and stir until completely coated.  Pour mixture onto a  seasoned baking stone (I found this works the best).  Smooth out and bake for 20 min @ 250°.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 5-10 min.  Then cut into bars & put them in snack size baggies.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Note:  If you are not using a seasoned baking stone then make sure you line your baking sheet with wax paper & spray with cooking spray. It will stick…I learned the hard way!  I used ingredients I knew my husband would like, so you can change the recipe to what ever your family likes.
 I hope you all enjoyed my Frugal tip today!  Be sure to pop over to Elle Elyse to see what else I’ve been up too!
About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

One response »

  1. These look delicious! I can’t wait to make them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

