RSS Feed

Easter Kids Craft and a Pinterest FAIL

Happy Wednesday!  Hope you are enjoying this week as much as I am…Today I am sharing an easy craft and a Pinterest FAIL.

First up…

Kid Friendly Stained Glass 

kids stained glass {Onekriegerchick.com}

This is a winner at my house for one main reason…It involves quite a bit of glue.  Not as much as my Pinterest FAIL, but we’ll get to that in a bit.  My boys love using glue and a dot of glue to me is much different than a dot of glue to them.  Anyway…

stained glass supplies {Onekriegerchick.com}

What you will need:

Paper plates (or heavy paper)

wax paper

tissue paper (various colors)

glue

Start by drawing and cutting out your desired shape onto a paper plate, then cut out.  Tear or cut tissue paper into smaller pieces.  Here comes the glue…Glue the pieces of tissue paper onto a sheet of wax paper.  Allow to dry.

tissue egg stained glass {Onekriegerchick.com}

Glue wax paper with tissue collage onto the paper plate so that the part you see is the smooth wax paper side.  Trim edges.

back of stained glass {Onekriegerchick.com}

egg and cross tissue stained glass {Onekriegerchick.com}

Now, just…Punch a hole, tie a ribbon and hang in your window.  These can be made for any season using different shapes and colors of tissue paper.

kids stained glass {Onekriegerchick.com}

 

Don’t miss out on my other fun Easter ideas…Bunny PizzasEaster Egg Lunch Hunt, and Bunny Cinnamon Rolls!

And Now For A Pinterest Fail…Ugh!

So, I saw this idea multiple times on Pinterest and thought we should give it a try.  Why?  Because it uses glue as a main ingredient…Lots of glue.  Did I mention, we like glue at our house?

Window Clings {made with glue}

I admit, I usually DO NOT follow directions.  I typically look at the picture and recreate what I see.  BUT this time I actually read and followed the directions. (I learned my lesson!)

Pinterest fail supplies {Onekriegerchick.com}

What I was supposed to do was make a template or use a cookie cutter.

Pinterest fail stencil {Onekriegerchick.com}Set it on a piece of wax paper.  Fill the template with glue.  Let it dry.  Note:  I added glitter…Window clings NEED glitter, right!?

Pinterest fail {Onekriegerchick.com}

Pinterest fail so add glitter {Onekriegerchick.com}

I let it dry and dry and dry for a couple days.

Pinterest Fail at{Onekriegerchick.com}

The glue ran and the shapes we created morphed into their own shapes.

Gluey mess {Onekriegerchick.com}

Then, they wouldn’t peel off the wax paper.  They curled. They made a glittery mess on my floor.

Pinterest Fail egg roll up {Onekriegerchick.com}

They looked nothing like they were supposed to.  Ugh!  What a waste of glue!

So…DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME (unless you want a fun excuse for your kiddos to use glue)!

If you made these at home and they worked…What did I do wrong?

What Pinterest FAILS have you experienced?

blog signature

 

 

About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

5 responses »

  1. Mine did the same thing Ariean! I got them to stay in the cookie cutter holding it there until the glue set a little, but then they wouldn’t come off!

    Reply
  2. moorethanamommy

    My little one and I made the stained glass this morning with a little twist (I didn’t have any waxed paper). I posted about it on my blog. Thank you so much for sharing such great crafts for the kiddos! We had a blast.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Toddler Easter Fun Day | Moore than a Mommy

  4. we used to make these when we were little – only with colored glue. we used to put the glue on some kind of plastic sheeting (reminds me of what i’d call overhead projector sheets used in school when i was younger). if i remember correctly, the key was using a small amount of glue to keep the shape.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

