RSS Feed

Valentines Countdown {and easy kid crafts}

Happy Monday!  I hope you all enjoyed your weekends…I sure did!  My two older boys stayed the night with my in-laws and I was able to knock out a few projects…Yeah!  I’ll be sharing those soon, but now I’d like to show-off how I created this cute, easy, under 15 minute Valentines Countdown that will make your kiddos feel super special!

I realize it is already the 4th of February, but so what!  I just made mine on the 2nd…Great ideas don’t always come to me ahead of time. 🙂  I was sitting on the sofa looking at my Christmas card display thinking it was probably time to take it down.  I remembered seeing a lot of countdown ideas on Pinterest and an idea for showering your kiddos with love note hearts.  The lightbulb turned on and here is what I came up with…

Countdown to Valentines {onekriegerchick.wordpress.com}I happened to have these foam hearts in all of the stuff I never throw away because I might need it for a project…Good thing because they were perfect!  I wrote numbers 1-14 with a black permanent marker on the front and a note on the back.  Each day, the boys can take the heart and turn it around to see what is on the back…I wrote things I love about the boys as well as special things we can do together.

Countdown Hearts {onekriegerchick.wordpress.com}When Oliver was two, I would always say to him “How much does Mommy love you?” and he would respond “Two Much!”  Now both boys say “Two much.”  Gosh, I LOVE these little boys!

Kids Crafts:

Now it’s time for a couple easy kid crafts…I cannot take credit for these ideas.  My 5 year-old made them while he was crafting alongside me.  He told me I should share them on my blog because other kids would like to make them too.  I couldn’t resist!

Beaded Heart Jewelry 

He has had sooo much fun beading jewelry for me, himself, his brothers, grandmas…I have been accessorized in hearts a lot lately.   Plus, it is a great skill working his little fingers.  If we can just keep the beads off the floor and out of a 1 year-old mouth!

Valentine jewelry {onekriegerchick.wordpress.com}I cut a length of twine for him and tied a bead to the end to keep the other beads from sliding right off.  Then he beaded to his hearts content.  I made a loop at the end so the first bead could slide on and off easily.  You could always just end with a knot.

Hanging Valentines

August colored these hearts with metallic pens, then glued beads to them.  The finishing touch was a little loop made of bakers twine so they could be hung.  He wanted to hang these everywhere!  They are cute, though. 🙂  I made sure to have him write his name on the back so I can remember how his first handwriting looked.

Hanging hearts {onekriegerchick.wordpress.com}

Have fun making memories with your kiddos!

If you like these ideas, be sure to check out my DIY Valentines Mantle HERE…many more cute {easy} ideas!

Ariean

Sharing with Funky Polkadot GiraffeTodays Creative BlogSugarbee CraftsNew NostalgiaSNAP!, and Life with Moore Babies

About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

16 responses »

  1. These are some really cute ideas!

    Reply
  2. I love the countdown! So easy and so cute!

    Reply
  3. So lovely!!! Love this ideas, my favourite is the sweet tree with lots of hearts. Thanks so much for sharing! Would love to have you visit me sometime.
    Have a fabulous week!
    Hugs from Portugal,

    Ana Love Craft
    http://www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. Pingback: My {SWEET} Valentines Mantle « onekriegerchick

  5. That is such a sweet countdown! I am going to have to remember that for when my little one is a bit older.
    Thanks for sharing your favorite post at Raising Imperfection! We feature our favorites on Friday, make sure to come back and check.
    Leslie
    http://www.violetimperfection.com

    Reply
  6. Love the hearts! Such a great idea!!

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured.

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Raising Reagan - Feature Friday Week 14

  8. I really like the crafts that are easy to do with the kids. I saw you featured on Raising Reagan and came to take a look. Everything looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

