RSS Feed

My Favorite Holiday Cookie

Of all the holiday cookie recipes, these are the cookies I look forward to the most each year…

Where are the “Orange Slices?”

Right here…

Now that you know my secret ingredient, on to the recipe:

Orange Slice Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients and Directions:

1/2 c. butter, softened (use real butter)

1/2 c. shortening

1 c. brown sugar

1 c. granulated sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 tsp. vanilla

pinch salt

Cream together ingredients listed above and set aside. I recommend using a stand mixer if possible.  Mix all ingredients listed below and then add to creamed mixture.

2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 c. coconut

2 c. old fashioned oatmeal

1/2 c. chopped nuts (I use pecans)

1 c. (10 0z. bag) orange slice candies, chopped and dusted with a little flour to keep them from clumping together

Drop by rounded spoonfuls ( I use my small scoop) onto an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake 8-12 minutes at 375. Yield 4 dozen.

Note: Butter flavor shortening will yield a flatter crispy cookie, while regular shortening produces a soft more rounded cookie.

These cookies were introduced to me years ago…My mother is a hairdresser and a client of hers, Ada, would make these for my mom each year for Christmas.  Before Ada passed, she gave my mother a hand written recipe for these cookies to be given to me because my mom always told her how much I loved them.

Hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

Yum! Look at all those sweet treats…

Click on each image to see the favorite Holiday Treats from dozens of other bloggers…

Holiday-Sweet-Treats-Final-Collage-365x1024

Also shared on Thirty Handmade Days

About OneKriegerChick

Ariean is a former High School Teacher turned SAHM of 3 little boys. She enjoys finding good junk and transforming it into unique home decor...a cup of coffee and a great book...cooking and crafting with her boys and connecting with YOU!

3 responses »

  1. I love that you use orange slice candies in these cookies! They sound delicious!

    Reply
  2. These look like they’d be an instant hit at our homes! Thanks for linking up at our Annual Cookie Exchange!
    ~Chris Ann & Kristin

    Reply
  3. Thanks for Sharing Ada’s recipe with us all . This is my DD’s fav candy , i’m sure she’ll love the cookie too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

