RSS Feed

DIY Button Monogram


Hello friends!  Today, I would like to share with you my DIY Button Monogram…just in case you missed it over at Sugar Bee Crafts.

I have had my eyes on a wooden cutout monogram for some time, but it has yet to fit into my budget.  So, I came up with the idea to make one of my own.

I started on the computer by deciding what font I liked best.  After choosing a font in word, I enlarged it to my desired size and printed it out.  I ended up using French Script enlarged to 700pt.  This was the largest I could fit on a regular piece of printer paper.

This step could be simplified by using a die cutting machine.  Note: If I were to make this again, I would have used my Cricut to cut out my template.

Then, I carefully cut it out and traced it onto a thin piece of cardboard.

The back of a notebook or gift wrap box works perfect.

Using an exacto knife, I cut out my monogram.

I smoothed edges with a file to get rid of all the fuzzies. Sandpaper would work too.

Then I painted the front side of the monogram a cream color. You could paint the other side or cover it with felt or a coordinating scrapbook paper.

Using a glue gun, I adhered buttons to one side of the monogram knowing that the other side would be against my French doors.  I chose neutral shades so I can use it during all seasons.

Loving how it turned out!

I then tied it with a loopy bow to a metal basket, filled it with greenery from my yard and hung it in my dining room.

Ta da!  A beautiful, personalized button monogram that will look lovely in my dining room for the holidays but will easily transition to other parts of the house throughout the year.

Have a creative day!

Ariean

Sharing with thirtyhandmadedays

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

