RSS Feed

5th Birthday Fun {DIY camping style}

November is birthday month around the Krieger house with two little boys celebrating in the same week.  Yikes!  This party-planning-mama was busy!  My oldest had two items on his birthday party wishlist: hayride and weenie roast with a bonfire.  So…what was a mom to do, but create a “Camping” inspired 5th birthday.  Who ever said planning boy birthday parties wasn’t fun?!

Of course I had lofty plans and ideas for all kinds of games, a tent in the backyard, and the list goes on…It turned out to be a beautiful {yet windy} day, therefore the plans had to be scaled back a bit. :(  Here are ALL the details…

I decorated the door to welcome our guests and set up a Camping dinner buffet in the mudroom.  Many of the ideas were pinterest inspired…I just raided my stuff for great decor items.  I found the perfect font online and used my scrap stash to create the signs and banner. I was so thrilled with how the decor turned out!  A perfect theme for Fall!

The food was yummy too!  In addition to the weenie roast, my husband smoked meat for the adults. Also on the menu was homemade mac-n-cheese, tater tots, veggies & dip, rotel cheese dip, homemade caramel corn and a Smore Bar.

For the drinks, I created a “Water Hole” for all the parched campers. I used my canning bath to contain small water bottles and sprites for the kiddos.

It was pretty chilly, so the Hot Cocoa Bar was definitely a hit!

Of course we had a bounce house {to make up for not having a giant tent over the swingset}.

The kids enjoyed gator rides around the land {mock hayride}. There’s the birthday boy looking cool in his sunglasses!

The biggest hit of the day…the dirt pit!  Kids LOVE digging in the dirt!

On the wishlist was a bonfire, so my husband created this firepit.

My son LOVED it and so did the adults when it started cooling off.

For the party favors, I tied a Smore trail mix {animal crackers, marshmallows and chocolate chips} into a square of bandana fabric.

All in all, it was a fun day and the birthday boy had a blast! Well worth all the time it took to put it together.

Happy 5th Birthday!  What will he come up with for next year?!

Do you have a favorite party theme?

Linked up with Beneath My Heart.  Come check out the other fabulous DIY happening in November!

7 responses »

  1. This turned out awesome! You did such a great job- what a fun party! Definitely jealous of your party planning skills.

    Reply
  2. Super cute!!!

    Reply
  3. OMG!!!! CUTENESS OVERLOAD!!!!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: “Best DIY projects” Highlights | Beneath My Heart

  5. Pingback: Crafts with Kids: Spring Handprint Butterflies - The Taylor House

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

